MBB vs. Appalachian State
NCAA Tickets MBB
Menís Hoops Announces 2013-14 Schedule
Courtesy: Charlotte Sports Information
          Release: 08/27/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

Charlotte, NC – Charlotte 49ers head coach Alan Major announced the 49ers schedule for the 2013-14 season. The 49ers schedule features 14 games against 2013 post-season teams.

“We are extremely excited about our challenging non-conference schedule this year,” Major said. “Our non-conference schedule features many quality opponents. Also, we are very excited about playing in the prestigious Puerto Rico Tip-Off whose field contains some of the top teams in the nation.”

The non-conference schedule features eight games in Halton Arena beginning with an exhibition game against Wingate in Halton Arena, Saturday, November 2. Charlotte tips-off the regular-season in Halton Arena against ETSU, Friday, November 8. Then, Charlotte travels to Charleston, South Carolina for their first road game against College of Charleston, who played in the 2013 College Basketball Invitational, Tuesday, November 12. The 49ers return to Halton Arena to play Elon, who played in the 2013 CollegeInsider.com Tournament, Friday, November 15.

Then, Charlotte travels San Juan, Puerto Rico for the Puerto Rico Tip-Off, November 21-24. Charlotte begins play in the Puerto Rico Tip-Off against 2013 NCAA Tournament participant Big 12 foe Kansas State, Thursday, November 21. Then, the 49ers will play either 2013 NCAA Tournament participant Georgetown or 2013 NIT participant Northeastern in the second round of the Puerto Rico Tip-Off, Friday, November 22. Charlotte defeated Northeastern in the Championship game of last year’s Great Alaska Shootout. Charlotte concludes play in the Puerto Rico Tip-Off, Sunday, November 24. The 49ers will play either 2013 National Championship runner-up Michigan, 2013 NCAA Tournament participant VCU, 2013 NIT participant Florida State or 2013 NIT participant Long Beach State in their final game of the Puerto Rico Tip-Off.

The 49ers begin the month of December with home games against UNC Asheville, Sunday, December 1 and 2013 NCAA Tournament participant Davidson, Wednesday, December 4. Charlotte returns to the road for two straight games beginning with a road contest against Appalachian State, Sunday, December 8. In their final non-conference road game, the 49ers play 2013 NIT participant ACC foe Florida State on the road, Tuesday, December 17.

The 49ers conclude their non-conference schedule with three games in Halton Arena. First, the 49ers host USC Upstate, Saturday, December 21. Then, the 49ers host ACC foe Georgia Tech, Sunday, December 29. Charlotte concludes the non-conference portion of their schedule in Halton Arena against 2013 NCAA Tournament participant North Carolina A&T, Saturday, January 4.

“Conference USA is a widely respected basketball league,” Major said. “Our team is excited about having several Conference USA road games within driving distance of Charlotte so that more of our fans will be able to support our team on the road this year.”

Charlotte begins their 16-game Conference USA schedule on the road with a two-game Texas road swing. First, the 49ers begin Conference USA play on the road at UTEP, Thursday, January 9. Then, the 49ers conclude their Texas road swing at UTSA, Saturday, January 11.

The 49ers host Tulsa, who played in the 2013 College Basketball Invitational, in their Conference USA home opener, Thursday, January 16. Then, the 49ers face North Texas in Halton Arena, Saturday, January 18. Charlotte returns to the road with games at 2013 NIT participant Louisiana Tech, Thursday, January 23. Then, Charlotte plays Rice on the road, Saturday, January 25.

The 49ers conclude the month of January with a home game against Florida Atlantic, Thursday, January 30. Charlotte begins the month of February with a home game against FIU, Saturday, February 1. The 49ers return to the road with trip to New Orleans to play Tulane, who played in the 2013 CollegeInsider.com Tournament, Thursday, February 6. Then, Charlotte remains on the road with a game at 2013 NIT participant Southern Miss, Saturday, February 8. Charlotte will play their next three games in Halton Arena. First, the 49ers play Marshall in Halton Arena, Saturday, February 15. The 49ers remain at home with a game against 2013 NCAA Tournament participant Middle Tennessee, Thursday, February 20. The 49ers conclude their three-game home stand against UAB, Saturday, February 22. Charlotte concludes the month of February on the road at 2013 CollegeInsider.com Tournament champion East Carolina, Thursday, February 27.

Charlotte begins the month of March by playing Old Dominion in Halton Arena in their final home game, Sunday, March 2. Then, Charlotte plays Marshall again this time on the road in their final regular-season game, Thursday, March 6.

The regular-season culminates with the Conference USA Tournament at UTEP in El Paso, Texas, March 11-15.

The 49ers return eight letterwinners and four starters from a 2012-13 team that went 21-12 and earned a post-season berth in the NIT.

 


Ortho Carolina
FOR THE FANS
Online store For the Fans
49ers Game Day Audio